Who we are

A modular group of independent companies
skilled in cooperation.

How did we get started?

Virtuology is a group of agencies that was founded in 2012 by Cedric Donck. At a time when the marketing industry was undergoing radical change, Cedric was developing a vision of bringing the leading digital marketing firms together under the same roof. To this end, he crafted an offer that was unique on the Belgian market, and blue2purple, Mobilosoft and Smartelia were the first to join him in this adventure.

Fondation

In 2015, the group’s activity took its first steps in Paris with the creation of Mobilosoft and Smartelia France.

When programmatic marketing revolutionized media purchasing, Programmads was created in 2017.

By 2014, the marketing world was becoming increasingly more complex and advertisers wanted to be better trained to be able to manage the evolution of their services. Virtuology Academy was created to meet this challenge.

With the surge in digital video and rich media, in 2016 the group opted to expand its offer with broadkat.

These days advertisers can no longer disregard Amazon, and Etail Distribution has provided this new expertise to the group’s clients since 2018.
In the same year, Smartelia expanded into Canada with a new office in Montreal.

2012

Fondation

2014

By 2014, the marketing world was becoming increasingly more complex and advertisers wanted to be better trained to be able to manage the evolution of their services. Virtuology Academy was created to meet this challenge.

2015

In 2015, the group’s activity took its first steps in Paris with the creation of Mobilosoft and Smartelia France.

2016

With the surge in digital video and rich media, in 2016 the group opted to expand its offer with broadkat.

2017

When programmatic marketing revolutionized media purchasing, Programmads was created in 2017.

2018

These days advertisers can no longer disregard Amazon, and Etail Distribution has provided this new expertise to the group’s clients since 2018.
In the same year, Smartelia expanded into Canada with a new office in Montreal.

The group is constantly attuned to new trends and is always attentive to the most recent innovations in order to best serve its clients. And the story has only just begun…

Key figures

Virtuology prioritizes reasoned growth to allow each entity in the group to develop at its own pace and offer optimal customer service.

Virtuology was created in 2012, and is 100% privately owned by its management

In 2018,we have reached a turnover of 27 M€ a gross margin of 7,5M€

26,7% of compound growth since foundation

220 team members on 4 sites – Belgium, France, Canada & Madagascar

564
Certifications on Google, Facebook Amazon, IBM, Hubspot.

7
Best in class specialized digital agencies

240
Blue chip clients and fast growing scale-ups have trust us

Our collaborators

“We invest in people,
not business models.”

The talented individuals that make up the backbone of the group are also its primary wealth. They receive full support in their business development as well as in their personal growth.

Their enthusiasm and motivation are the mortar for our vision. If our collaborators are thriving, our clients will be delighted.

Inspiring career opportunities, a work environment with multiple challenges, and trust in the potential of each person are the secrets to our success. This is a winning approach, and we are not about to change it.

Cedric Donck

CEO

Linkedin link

Cedric Donck has a solid background in entrepreneurship. He founded his first start-up when he was a university student and sold it eleven years later to Omnicom. 

He then worked for the latter for three years in the field of mergers and acquisitions. 

In 1998, when the Internet was still in its early stages, Cedric started one of the first digital agencies. After developing in France and Belgium, it was sold to WPP in 2008. The time had come for Cedric to share his acquired experience. He became a professor of entrepreneurship and innovation at several faculties including the Solvay School of Economics and Management and the Vlerick Business School.

He is the author of The Pimento Map which explores the analysis of business models. Cedric is also the founder of several NGOs supporting entrepreneurship in Africa. He divides his time between the ongoing development of Virtuology International, his university classes, and his passion for off-road motorcycle trips in Africa.

Grégoire de Neve

CFO

Linkedin link

Grégoire started his career as a consultant at PWC, among other firms. He soon found that giving advice was no longer enough and wanted more action.

He has held positions as crises manager and CFO in various digital companies.

His encounter with Virtuology was a turning point, and he became a shareholder and shouldered the group’s financial and administrative responsibilities.

To recharge his batteries, he enjoys sailing with his family.

The Virtuology Foundation

We believe that Virtuology and the companies in the group have a societal role to play that extends beyond their purely economic one.

We are a human organization which handles a great deal of money and which is made up of life forces.

We are morally bound to share some of these resources with people who serve others. This is the purpose of the Virtuology Foundation.

It is backed by the financial contribution of its entities and the human investment of its collaborators.

Testimonials

Since we are defined by the generosity we show in our daily interactions, it was clear that Virtuology’s virtuous circle went beyond the context of business relations between its members. Cedric had the idea for the Foundation early on. Among the concrete achievements arising from the success of each of its companies, it seems pertinent to me to include all of the collaborators in the group. The solution of rounding the salary up is an efficient way to allow anyone to support the Foundation. When a donation is painless it becomes essential! Today, all of the Virtuology members have adhered to the concept, on a voluntary and anonymous basis.

Annick Vandersmissen

Opening an office in Madagascar for blue2purple went far beyond the goal of setting up an optimized production center. The desire to apply the Virtuology values here and to foster an environment in which development opportunities are open to all quickly went beyond the business context. Our motto, “Make People Grow” applies to the younger generations. Our modest contribution this year was to organize a drive for donations and school supplies. Next year our input will be more ambitions: we will be promoting the principles of the Knowledge Economy to Marketing students.

Adèle Diera

Before our operational structure with a staff of over 150 people was set up in Madagascar, Cedric wanted to start a business plan competition. Newco Park was based on the principle of an incubator for the most promising talents. Its purpose was to give students and born entrepreneurs the opportunity to validate their ambitions in the digital sector. Every year, 4 companies have been created to consolidate, in Antananarivo, state-of-the-art digital skills that can compete with the most demanding European requirements.

Harittina Randriamanantena

The photographic heritage of our country was doomed to disappear before the project to digitalize the paper, ferrotype and autochrome prints. The primary objective was to create collections that could be classified and accessed through a virtual database, to make it again possible for students to learn about their history through the documented images of the past. Social media was quick to support this initiative and the idea of a Virtual Museum became obvious. Cedric’s strong conviction that offering a genuine showcase to the Madagascar Photography Museum was the way to broaden the scope of our research and indexing work was the culmination of our five-year collaboration. Every month, 3,000 visitors pay to see the Museum and 500 students visit free of charge.

Helihanta Rajaonarison

Who we are

Un groupe modulaire de sociétés indépendantes et formées à la coopération.

D’où venons-nous?

Virtuology est un groupe d’agences fondé en 2012 par Cedric Donck. Devant la transformation radicale de l’industrie du marketing, il développe la vision de rassembler, sous un même toit, les meilleurs sociétés de marketing digital. Il crée ainsi une offre unique sur le marché belge. blue2purple, Mobilosoft et Smartelia sont les premières à rejoindre l’aventure.

Fondation

L’année 2015 voit les premiers pas du groupe à Paris avec la création de Mobilosoft et Smartelia France.

Le programmatic révolutionne l’achat média, Programmads est créée en 2017.

Dès 2014, le monde du marketing digital se complexifie et les annonceurs désirent être mieux formés pour affronter la transformation de leurs services. Virtuology Academy voit le jour pour répondre à cette problématique.

Devant l’essor de la vidéo digitale et du rich media, le groupe choisi en 2016 de compléter son offre avec broadkat.

Amazon ne peut plus être ignoré par les annonceurs, Etail Distribution apporte cette nouvelle expertise aux clients du groupe en 2018. La même année Smartelia s’étend au Canada avec un nouveau bureau à Montréal.

2012

Fondation

2014

By 2014, the marketing world was becoming increasingly more complex and advertisers wanted to be better trained to be able to manage the evolution of their services. Virtuology Academy was created to meet this challenge.

2015

L’année 2015 voit les premiers pas du groupe à Paris avec la création de Mobilosoft et Smartelia France.

2016

Devant l’essor de la vidéo digitale et du rich media, le groupe choisi en 2016 de compléter son offre avec broadkat.

2017

Le programmatic révolutionne l’achat média, Programmads est créée en tant que spin-off de blue2purple en 2017.

2018

Amazon ne peut plus être ignoré par les annonceurs, Etail Distribution apporte cette nouvelle expertise aux clients du groupe en 2018. La même année Smartelia s’étend au Canada avec un nouveau bureau à Montréal.

En connexion permanente avec les nouvelles tendances, le groupe est toujours à l’affût des innovations les plus récentes pour servir au mieux ses clients. L’histoire ne fait que commencer…

Key figures

Virtuology privilégie une croissance raisonnée pour permettre à chaque entité du groupe de grandir à sa vitesse et d’offrir un service client optimal.

Création de Virtuology International en 2012, détenue à 100% par son management

En 2018, nous avons atteint un chiffre d’affaire de 27 M€ avec une marge brute de 7,5M€

Taux de croissance cumulée de 26,7%

220 Collaborateurs sur 4 bureaux – Belgique, France, Canada & Madagascar

564
Certifications sur Google, Facebook,  Amazon, IBM, Hubspot.

7
Agences expertes spécialisées dans le Marketing Digital

240
Grands Comptes et Scale-Up nous font confiance

Nos collaborateurs

Nous investissons dans les personnes,
pas dans les “business models”.

Les talents qui composent le groupe sont notre principale richesse. Tout est fait pour les soutenir dans leur croissance professionnelle et personnelle.

Leur enthousiasme et leur motivation sont le ciment de notre vision. Si nos collaborateurs sont épanouis, nos clients seront ravis.

Offrir des opportunités de carrière inspirante, créer un climat de travail aux multiples challenges et avoir confiance dans le potentiel de chacun sont les secrets de notre succès. La formule fonctionne, nous n’en changerons pas.

Cedric Donck

CEO

Linkedin link

Cedric Donck a une longue expérience dans la création d’entreprise. Il fonde sa première start-up sur les bancs de l’université et la revend 11 ans plus tard à Omnicom.

Il y travaillera durant trois ans en fusion et acquisition.

En 1998, alors qu’internet était à ses balbutiements, il crée une des premières agences digitale. Elle se développera en France et en Belgique pour être vendue à WPP en 2008. Il est alors temps pour lui de partager l’expérience acquise. Il devient professeur d’entrepreneuriat et d’innovation dans plusieurs universités telles que Solvay et Vlerick.

Il écrit le livre “Pimento Map” traitant de l’analyse des business models. Fondateur de plusieurs ONG qui soutiennent l’entrepreneuriat en Afrique, il partage son temps entre le développement de Virtuology International, l’enseignement et sa passion, les raids moto en Afrique.

Grégoire de Neve

CFO

Linkedin link

Grégoire entame sa carrière en tant que consultant entre autre chez PWC. Très vite, donner des conseils ne lui suffit plus, il veut agir.

Il occupera des fonctions de manager de crise et de CFO dans plusieurs entreprises du secteur digital.

Sa rencontre avec Virtuology est un déclic. Il devient actionnaire et prend la responsabilité financière et administrative du groupe.

Faire de la voile en famille est sa manière de se ressourcer.

La fondation Virtuology

Nous croyons que Virtuology et les sociétés du groupe ont un rôle sociétal à jouer au-delà de leur fonction purement économique.

Nous sommes une organisation humaine qui brasse beaucoup d’argent et qui est composée de nombreuses forces vives.

Nous nous devons de partager certaines de ses ressources avec les personnes qui s’engagent pour les autres. La fondation Virtuology a ce rôle.

Elle est alimentée par la contribution financière de ses entités et par l’investissement humain de leurs collaborateurs.

Témoignages

Parce que la générosité défini qui nous sommes dans nos interactions au quotidien, il était évident que le cercle vertueux de Virtuology dépasse le cadre de relations commerciales entre ses membres. L’idée de la Fondation a germé très tôt dans l’esprit de Cédric. Parmi les réalisations concrètes découlant du succès de chacune des sociétés, il m’apparut pertinent d’impliquer tous les collaborateurs du groupe. La solution d’arrondi sur salaire est le moyen efficace de permettre à tout un chacun de supporter la Fondation. Lorsqu’un un don est indolore il devient indispensable! Aujourd’hui – sur base volontaire & anonyme – tous les membres de Virtuology ont adhéré au concept.

Annick Vandersmissen

Ouvrir un bureau à Madagascar pour blue2purple dépassait – et de loin – de l’ambition de mettre en place un centre de production optimisée. La volonté d’y faire vivre les valeurs de Virtuology et d’y construire un environnement où les opportunités de développement sont accessibles à tous a très vite débordé du cadre professionnel. Notre motto Make People Grow s’applique aux jeunes générations. Notre modeste contribution cette année a été d’organiser une collecte de fonds et de matériel scolaire. L’an prochain notre un coup de pouce sera plus ambitieux : nous déploierons les principes de l’Economie de la Connaissance auprès d’étudiants en Marketing.

Adèle Diera

Avant que notre structure opérationnelle de plus de 150 personnes ne naisse à Madagascar, il y eut la volonté de Cedric de créer un concours de business plan. Newcopark: le principe d’un incubateur à la disposition des talents les plus prometteurs. Il s’agissait de donner, aux étudiants et aux entrepreneurs dans l’âme, l’opportunité de valider leurs ambitions dans le secteur digital. Année après année, 4 sociétés ont vu le jour pour rassembler à Antananarivo les compétences digitales les plus pointues rivalisant avec le niveau d’exigence européen le plus rigoureux.

Harittina Randriamanantena

Le patrimoine photographique de notre pays était promis à une disparition certaine jusqu’à ce que naisse le projet de digitaliser les supports papier, les ferrotypes, les autochromes . L’objectif premier : créer des collections classées accessibles via une base de données virtuelle et faire en sorte que les étudiants puissent au travers des images du passé documentées se réapproprier leur histoire. Très vite les réseaux sociaux ont plébiscité l’initiative et l’idée d’un Musée virtuel est devenue évidente. La force de conviction de Cédric qu’offrir un vrai lieu d’exposition au Musée de la Photographie de Madagascar était le moyen de donner plus d’ampleur à notre travail de recherche et d’indexation est l’aboutissement de notre collaboration depuis 5 ans. Chaque mois, 3000 visiteurs passent les portes du Musée et 500 étudiants y accèdent gratuitement.

Helihanta Rajaonarison